97x Next Big Thing: Battle of the Local Bands

nbt
Photo by: 97x. 97x Next Big Thing local search will be held at Ferg’s Live near Channelside.

The Next Big Thing (NBT) has been an annual tradition hosted by 97x alternative radio for years.

Each year the concert gets bigger and better than the previous one with lineups that don’t disappoint.

This year’s Next Big Thing takes place on Friday, Dec. 5 at the MidFlorida Credit Union Amphitheater. Headliners include The Neighborhood, Walk the Moon, Robert Delong, X Ambassadors, Of Monsters and Men and my all time favorite duo, Twenty One Pilots.

So what’s this battle of the local bands thing?

97x is in search of a local band to open for Next Big Thing this year. They narrowed the competition down to 10 local bands and partnered with Ferg’s Live Tampa, a popular sports bar with a great atmosphere and food, to showcase each band’s talents live.

The band with the most live votes will win and open for NBT.

The bands are broken up into five shows. Two out of the 10 bands will perform at each show. The first show took place on October 16 and featured the bands Southview and On The Avenue.

The second show will actually be this Friday, Nov. 6 at 8:30 p.m. Expect to hear music from New Cathedral and Saved By Friday if you’re interested in attending.

To see other show dates and times for the remaining six local bands, visit 97x’s website by clicking this link.

I’ll definitely be at Ferg’s Friday, Nov. 13 to show my support for local band Denim Blue and Miclain Keith (DBMK). It only took two seconds for me to hear Denim Blue’s voice and Miclain’s acoustic guitar on the radio for me to fall absolutely in love with them.

Will you be attending one of these shows too?

3 comments

  1. I’m so excited for Next Big Thing! Bought my ticket a couple months ago! I love so many of the bands that will be performing, and I’m really interested to discover some great new bands while I’m there as well! I’ll definitely have to check out the local bands that you mentioned. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I was really excited for NBT this year because Twenty One Pilots is the headline and they’re my absolute favorite band! Unfortunately, I was working the day tickets went on sale and of course, the good seats were sold out by the end of the day. But I’m still a supporter! My friend bailed on me for this Friday, so let me know if I’ll be seeing you at Ferg’s!

      Like

Leave a comment